Why Do An Exchange Year?

A year abroad is a formative experience and also brings many challenges. 
In this article, I talk about how I came up with the idea and list the reasons why I want to spend a year abroad.

The Idea

It all started in the 9th grade when I went on a student exchange to France through the Franco-German Youth Office to improve my French and immerse myself in French culture. A French exchange student came to Germany for three months, after which I was allowed to go to France for three months. Unfortunately, I had to break off my exchange after about two months due to the Covid-19 pandemic, but I still got a lot out of this exchange. Then I had the wish to go abroad for a longer period of time.

Doubts

After I enthusiastically told my family and friends about the idea, the first doubts arose. Should I really go abroad for a whole year? That would mean not seeing my family and friends for a year. I am aware that this time can be very long and that I will probably have to go through some low points, and I don't know what kind of people I will be dealing with and whether I will really feel comfortable. Finally, I am not guaranteed that my host family will be as nice and open as the one in France, on which my previous experiences are based. 

Good Reasons

But I still decided to do a year abroad. After all, my school exchange in France showed me that it's worth getting over homesickness because you also gain so many positive experiences during the exchange.

Challenge

One good reason, which is actually part of the doubt, is that the year abroad will definitely be a challenge. I've never been away from home for anywhere near as long - I don't know how I'll experience it emotionally. In addition, I don't know anyone at the beginning and have to "start from scratch", so to speak. 
But for me, the challenge is precisely the attraction. Because by overcoming problems during the year abroad, I will probably automatically become more independent and stronger. 

Meet New People

Another reason why I want to do the year abroad is that I will meet other people.
I don't expect to make "friends for life" as described in the glossy brochures of many exchange organisations. I'm just looking forward to observing how other people live and what they think, to get out of my "bubble" a bit, to broaden my horizons and to jump over my shadow.
And who knows, maybe by the end of the year abroad I will have taken one or two people to my heart.

Get To Know Myself

"Getting to know myself", that might sound a bit strange at first. But by immersing myself in a different daily routine during my year abroad and getting to know new people with different views, I will definitely also learn a lot about myself. After all, sometimes you only realise how important a certain thing is to you when it's gone.
In addition, I will probably also rethink my own actions at many points and thus learn something about my character traits.

Learn A New Language

Of course, I will also learn a new language abroad. At the beginning, when I don't know the language yet, it will be very difficult, because communication will eventually be very limited, which will probably also affect my emotions. But as a young person, you learn fairly quickly, so I'm sure I'll be able to communicate after a few months. 
And if after a year I can speak the language almost fluently and have also created synapses for learning languages in general, that is an advantage that should not be underestimated.

Conclusion

These were the most important reasons for me to take up the year abroad. Personally, I think there are enough advantages to make it worth my while. But of course I will only see afterwards whether the year abroad will live up to my expectations. 
If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to leave a comment. 

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Carl (Sunday, 12 September 2021 19:11)

    You go girl! Super brave of you and I'm looking forward to read more from you.
    I wish you all the best and the time of your life!

  • #2

    Linda (Saturday, 02 October 2021 15:07)

    Thanks Carl :)